New year, new ideas

Me, Andy Extance (centre front) and ECOE Operations and Maintenance Co-ordinator Margaret Pickering (left) with SOL Electrical Director Simon Lord (centre rear), who put up the panels, and Westbank’s Operations Manager Justin Milton. who represents the building, (right) celebrating installation of 46kW of solar panels at a safe social distance.
Me, Andy Extance (centre front), and ECOE Operations and Maintenance Co-ordinator Margaret Pickering (left) with SOL Electrical Director Simon Lord (centre rear), who put up the panels, and Westbank’s Operations Manager Justin Milton. who represents the building, (right) celebrating installation of 46kW of solar panels at a safe social distance.

Is anybody out there? If so, thanks for reading after such a long time without posts on this blog. Due to a combination of personal and professional reasons my focus had shifted elsewhere. In 2022, I plan to return to posting, in a slightly different form.

As I mentioned here a couple of years ago, I became a director of Exeter Community Energy (ECOE) in 2018 to do something more directly about climate change. That’s given me the chance to lead on projects to install solar panels on local community buildings. I even became the chair of ECOE from 2020-2021. During that period ECOE won the outstanding customer support award at the South West Energy Efficiency Awards 2020/21. That recognises ECOE’s Healthy Homes for Wellbeing project, which helps households in fuel poverty to reduce their bills, and hopefully their greenhouse gas emissions. Interestingly, the impact of this scheme is much greater than our renewable generation projects. I plan to post occasionally about why you should get involved with your local community energy group through 2022.

Since 2017 I have also been on the board of the Association of British Science Writers, also becoming chair in 2020. I have also been an editor of the science blog aggregator ScienceSeeker since 2014, becoming editor-in-chief in 2015.  These roles have given me a much wider view on communicating science on climate and beyond.

I have exciting plans for 2022 across all these activities and more broadly. As such I plan to go back to publishing regular posts here. They may be less directly climate focussed, but I do plan to mention what’s going on with ECOE every week at least. I hope you find the new format enjoyable!  

Leave a comment